The Times They Are a Changin’

Posted on May 25, 2011 by

0


Do you remember the good ol’ days, back when you used to be able to get a good job coming out of college?  Hell, I think my parents even remember the days when you could get a good job coming right out of high school.  It seems that those days are now long gone, with many graduates at quite an unfortunate impass – move back in with mom and dad, or take up the life of a gambler, roaming from town to town not knowing where your next meal is coming from.  An interesting article from the Huffington Post sheds light on the fact that many graduates are now forced to move back in with their parents, or at the very least take jobs outside of their preferred area of expertise.

As a member of this “lost” generation, I can say I’ve seen quite a bit of this trend among peers, friends and colleagues.  I myself am a math major who has a job that’s much more communication focused.  With the default rate  for student loans hovering right around 9%, my generation faces some interesting challenges and choices as it makes it’s mark on the history of American Society.

