Gun Policies On a College Campus

Posted on February 14, 2011 by

0


I recently came across an article on Campus Safety Magazine’s website that talked about the University of Utah’s internal gun policy.  According to the law in Utah, the college campus cannot restrict the possession or use of firearms on campus.  This seems a little ridiculous, don’t ya think? 

I would not want to either go to school or work on a campus where 18-year old’s with raging hormones can carry a loaded weapon!

The article was linked further to an article from The Salt Lake Tribune which further detailed the rules and regulations for the state of Utah’s gun policy.  The campus faculty and police are not allowed to ask who has a gun permit unless a complaint is filed.  So now you don’t even have a clue as to who has a gun and/or who is allowed to be carrying that gun!

The article also discusses how unnecessary ‘open carry’ is but there is nothing wrong with concealed weapons.  I just don’t know about this and I don’t think I agree with it.  The president of the university fears that if ‘open carry’ is allowed on campus he will not be able to recruit the experienced faculty he is after from the east and west coasts.

I guess being from an east coast urban area, when I think of guns, nothing good comes to mind.  Maybe it is a ‘norm’ out in Utah but I do not feel comfortable with guns being allowed on campus. Period.  What do you think?  Does your campus have a gun policy?  Is it separate from the state’s policy?

Posted in: Safety